Be Kind to One Another

Growing up, I always knew I wanted to be a teacher. I wanted to love what I did everyday, and inspire children to treat each other kindly. I was bullied a lot as a kid for a variety of different things- what I looked like, how I acted, what my interests were… I’d stay up late looking for inspiration around the internet, especially on YouTube.

Naturally, I watched Ellen Degeneres because when my mom was a stay at home mother, she’d watch her sappy soap operas. I’d come racing home from the bus to turn on the TV to The Ellen Show at 4:00 on the same channel my mom had been watching.

Ellen was everything I wanted and more in a TV show. She had humor, game shows, and celebrity interviews in each episode. Her dancing is why I dance the way I do today, thank you, Ellen!!

Because she was so funny and energetic, she was a huge inspiration to me because she’d voice what she believed in on public television. Being a middle schooler, I had a lot of opinions that I was scared to voice but Ellen helped me get my voice out there around my community.

Another thing I absolutely love about Ellen Degeneres is that at the end of every show, she says “Goodbye, be kind to one another.” As if I didn’t already love her show enough, this phrase is what got me through tough times. Times when I thought I didn’t know who I was, or how to act towards others.

Ellen gave me a basis of what everyone should be, and she reminded people at the end of every single show she had. She is a very relatable person because she is so levelheaded and down to earth.

I know I’m not the only person she has affected in a positive way. Just this year, President Obama rewarded her the Medal of Freedom. This rewards the highest civilian who the president believes is changing the world in a great way.

Ellen Degeneres has affected my life and so many others for the good. She absolutely has helped me be kind to everyone as well as helped me to realize it’s okay to stand up for what you believe in publicly.

Leave a Reply

